#ShareAReviewDay – Harbinger: Wake-Robin Ridge Book 3 by Marcia Meara

No one was scheduled for #ShareAReviewDay today, so I thought I’d share one of my latest for Harbinger: Wake-Robin Ridge Book 3.  Enjoy, and by all means, do feel free to pass it along anywhere you like. Thanks!

REVIEW:

 5 stars  Compelling and Heart-Wrenching
on September 12, 2018

This series just gets better and better. The first novel introduces us to a damaged man and a lonely woman who finally begin to heal when they find each other. Their family expands in the second book when they take in a young boy who can’t help but melt the iciest of hearts. I couldn’t wait to read the third book, and it did not disappoint. Marcia Meara crafted a blend of love story/murder mystery/coming-of-age tale that had me riveted from page one.

Rabbit had me from word one of the second book, and his charisma carries on in Harbinger. He’s so determined to help people, even at his own peril. His bravery, determination, and heart carry this story to its dramatic conclusion.

Watching the villain’s mental state deteriorate from his two-faced status quo to utter madness was compelling. Meara did an excellent job of immersing the reader in his mental and emotional decline.

The characters definitely carry this tale, but once again, the descriptions add a poignant and welcome flavor to the story. They are the cherry on top of an already delicious sundae.

I don’t know if there will be a book four or not, but if there is, I’ll definitely read it

BLURB:

Continuing in the tradition of Wake-Robin Ridge and A Boy Named Rabbit, Marcia Meara’s North Carolina mountain series takes a shivery turn with the Appalachian Legend of Ol’ Shuck, the Harbinger of Death.

“. . . he felt the wet slide of the dog’s burning hot tongue on his face, and the scrape of its razor sharp teeth against the top of his head. A white-hot agony of crushing pain followed, as the jaws began to close.”

The wine-red trillium that carpets the forests of the North Carolina Mountains is considered a welcome harbinger of spring—but not all such omens are happy ones. An Appalachian legend claims the Black Dog, or Ol’ Shuck, as he’s often called, is a harbinger of death. If you see him, you or someone you know is going to die.

But what happens when Ol’ Shuck starts coming for you in your dreams? Nightmares of epic proportions haunt the deacon of the Light of Grace Baptist Church, and bring terror into the lives of everyone around him. Even MacKenzie Cole and his adopted son, Rabbit, find themselves pulled into danger.

When Sheriff Raleigh Wardell asks Mac and Rabbit to help him solve a twenty-year-old cold case, Rabbit’s visions of a little girl lost set them on a path that soon collides with that of a desperate man being slowly driven mad by guilt.

As Rabbit’s gift of the Sight grows ever more powerful, his commitment to those who seek justice grows as well, even when their pleas come from beyond the grave.

Buy Harbinger HERE


Marcia Meara,  Author

Marcia Meara lives in central Florida, just north of Orlando, with her husband of over thirty years, four big cats, and two small dachshunds. When not writing or blogging, she spends her time gardening, and enjoying the surprising amount of wildlife that manages to make a home in her suburban yard. At the age of five, Marcia declared she wanted to be an author, and is ecstatic that at age 69, she finally began pursuing that dream. Her belief in the redemptive power of love is a unifying factor in both of her popular series and her poetry. Today, she’s still going strong, and plans to keep on writing until she falls face down on the keyboard, which she figures would be a pretty good way to go!

Marcia has published six novels, one novella, and one book of poetry to date, all of which are available on Amazon: 

Wake-Robin Ridge
A Boy Named Rabbit: Wake-Robin Ridge Book 2
Harbinger: Wake-Robin Ridge Book 3

Swamp Ghosts: A Riverbend Novel
Finding Hunter: Riverbend Book 2
That Darkest Place: Riverbend Book 3 

The Emissary: A Riverbend Spinoff Novella 

Summer Magic: Poems of Life & Love 

Marcia’s Amazon Author Page

You can reach Marcia via email at marciameara16@gmail.com or on the following social media sites:

The Write Stuff: https://marciamearawrites.com/
Twitter:
@marciameara
Facebook: www.facebook.com/marcia.meara.writer
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/marciameara/

30 thoughts on “#ShareAReviewDay – Harbinger: Wake-Robin Ridge Book 3 by Marcia Meara

    • What a lovely thing to say, Jacquie! Thanks so much. Those mountains are my favorite place on earth, so far, and I miss them every day. There are things I love about Florida (I’m a native Floridian, btw), especially the wildlife and birds, but my heart is in the rolling hills of those ancient mountains. (They are the oldest mountain chain on earth, and they feel that way, too.) The best part about writing the WRR series is that I get to spend time there, alongside Mac, Sarah, Rabbit, and Branna. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 3 people

  1. Still fighting a huge backlog but have arrived at this post. Yay! I love Rabbit. His voice and sweet reasoning are unlike any other character I’ve come across and I’ll snap up the next book as soon as it comes out. (No pressure, Marcia…) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well . . . as long as there’s no pressure, or anything. 😀 Don’t worry, Trish. I’ve already re-uploaded the first 12 chapters onto my Beta blog, and hope to get the next one going later this week. (The first half was put on hold during the hurricane Irma construction.) I just have to finish formatting TE2, finish my Intro to Hawks, Falcons, and Kites for Saturday’s presentation, finish my post scheduling for the rest of this week, get to my dermatologist for my six-month check-up, and have lunch with a very good friend. I can do it. I’m sure I can. Pretty sure. Probably. 😀

      And thanks so much for your kind words about Little Rabbit. He’s always such a joy to turn loose on the pages. 😀 I do hope I get some good progress in on WRR4, The Light, this week. Will keep you posted. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Looking forward to hearing what YOU think! NOTE: If in doubt about leaving comments on this blog, please read the privacy statement in the menu at the top of the page.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s